Monday, September 22, 2008

Weekend recap

What you missed while watching the SEC slowly decimate all...

The waning laps of Sunday's Dover Sprint Cup event were about as good as it gets for spectators and the couch bound, not watching football crowd. The Roush Fenway Racing clan of Fords put on a circular clinic, with Greg Biffle, Matt Kenseth and Carl Edwards all getting scrappy. In the end it was Biffle taking his second straight win and solidifying his spot as a title contender. Speaking of the title, guess who's not going to win? Kyle Busch. He finished dead fucking last. Coupling with his 34th place run in New Hampshire, Busch's championship hopes have been dashed faster than those of the Browns.

Monster of a race- Biffle outruns Kenseth, Edwards for Dover win

It's of little consolation to the now Cup-disabled Busch, but he won the Nationwide race on Saturday. Mike Bliss finished second, just in front of Brad Keselowski.

NATIONWIDE: Busch Races To Eighth Win at Dover

The NASCAR Craftsman Truck race was in Las Vegas on Saturday night. Mike Skinner won. We know nothing else about the happenings. Nothing. Take it away Speedtv.

Oh, if you're thinking about becoming a NASCAR driver and getting hopped up on goofballs, don't.

While the final 20-laps at Dover were pretty damn entertaining, the race of the weekend goes to... Drum roll... J.R. Todd v. Tony Schumacher at the Texas Motoroplex. Schumacher who hadn't lost a round in the past seven national events was tardy off the line, giving Todd and his Lucas Oil team the win. The RT? Todd's .068 to Schumacher’s .084. Other pro winners were Tim Wilkerson (FC); Greg Stanfield (PSC); and Chris Rivas (PSB). It was the first career victory for Stanfield and the first time in NHRA history the reigning series champs were a collective 0-4 in final rounds at the same event. How about that?

NHRA: Todd Ends The Sarge’s Streak in Texas

The pride of Columbus, Ohio-Mike Shank Racing- took victory in the season finale for the Grand-Am Series. Raphael Matos joined regular Shank DP drivers Ian James and John Pew to win the 1000 at Miller Motorsports Park. Exhale. Of course, Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas already had the DP championship in the bag for Chip Ganassi Racing. In GT, Kelly Collins and Paul Edwards won the race and the title in their Pontiac GXP.R.

Michael Shank Racing a Winner at Miller

Also getting their Mormon on at Miller was the Atlantic Series. Markus Niemela became the seventh different winner this year in Atlantics. He started from the pole and beat Jonathan Summerton to the line. The title comes down to the season finale at Road Atlanta in two weeks. 10 points separate the top-three drivers. Jonathan Bomarito has an eight-point lead over Summerton, with Niemela two points out of p2.

ATLANTIC: Niemela Scores First Series Victory in Utah

Let us all have a phenomenal race week. On a side note, go Phillies. Fuck the Mets.

No comments: